Associate in Applied Science Degree

Pharmacy Technology

Learn to compound medications, prepare sterile products, package and label medications, and maintain drug inventory. Understand and incorporate appropriate medical terminology into all aspects of the pharmacy.

Prescription: Associate Degree in Pharmacy Technology.

Dosage: Take classes for 15 months.

  • Be a part of the 27% growth in the pharmacy technician field over the next 10 years
  • Learn about pharmaceutical terminology, law, and techniques by earning an Associate Degree in Pharmacy Technology from Robert Morris University 
  • Work side by side with pharmacists
  • Receive and verify prescriptions
  • Inventory and stock medication
  • Price and fill prescriptions
  • Patient paperwork
  • Insurance claims

Please view the Pharmacy Technology course list for details on the curriculum.

RMU prepares you to sit for the following certifications:

  • Pharmacy Technician Certification Board - Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPHT)

The College of Nursing & Health Studies at Robert Morris University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP).  RMU requires that students pass a background check, drug screen, and complete the RMU Health Form prior to registering for clinical externships.

Robert Morris University Illinois is a private, not-for-profit associate, baccalaureate, and master's degree-granting institution, accredited by the Higher learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (230 South LaSalle Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604, 312.263.0456) and authorized by the Illinois Board of Higher Education (1 N. Old State Capitol Plaza Suite 333, Springfield, Illinois 62701-1377, 217.782.2551, IBHE Feedback). Robert Morris serves over 4500 students interested in getting an education that meets the demands of today's business, graphic arts, health care, culinary and technical world at its main campus in Chicago as well as at locations in Arlington Heights, DuPage, Elgin, Orland Park, Schaumburg, Springfield, Peoria and Lake County.