Educational Talent Search

Educational Talent Search

 

Welcome to the Educational Talent Search program at Robert Morris University. Educational Talent Search is a federally funded TRIO Program designed to enhance, promote, and teach the skills needed to reach academic and career heights.

All services provided are absolutely free.

For more information, or to find out if you are eligible, contact your respective school counselor or contact Larriey Payton at 312.935.4566. Please feel free to browse through our website to learn more about the exciting opportunities Educational Talent Search has to offer.

Our Purpose

The Robert Morris University Educational Talent Search program enhances, promotes, and teaches the skills needed to succeed in school while at the same time assisting students in reaching academic goals and achievements. In addition to helping them choose educational programs that will prepare them to meet their career goals, the ETS program is able to provide individualized attention in addition to that which is given at the students respective schools.

Available Services

  • One-on-one academic and personal counseling
  • College tours
  • Test-taking skills workshops
  • Standard Test Preparation
  • Assistance completing financial aid forms, college applications, and scholarship forms.
  • Self-esteem and values workshops
  • Tutoring
  • Mentoring
  • Career Development
  • Cultural and educational enrichment activities

Participating Schools:

  • Curie Metro High School
  • Kennedy High School
  • Farragut High School
  • Barton Elementary School
  • Westcott Elementary School

Enrollment Qualifications:

The U.S. Department of Education and Robert Morris University have a set criteria for the Educational Talent Search program.

Students must be:

  • Between the ages of 11 and 27
  • At a low family income level
  • First generation college student
  • U.S. citizen or permanent resident
  • Enrolled at one of our target schools

Participants are selected without regard to race, color, national or ethnic origin, sex, or physical handicap.

Reaching Educational, Academic, and Career Heights!

Our Staff

Student Support Services Staff

Angelica Castaneda
Director
(312) 935-6015
acastaneda@robertmorris.edu

Alishia Greene-Jenkins
Student Coordinator/Financial & Career Counselor
(312) 935-6017
agreene@robertmorris.edu

Crystal R. Tillman
Student Advisor/Instructional Focus
(312) 935-6014
ctillman@robertmorris.edu

Alyssa D. Simmons
Administrative Assistant
(312) 935-6100
asimmons@robertmorris.edu

Tutoring and Supplemental Instruction is available for all SSS participants on Monday – Friday between 8:30am-6:00pm

Upward Bound Staff

Carolyn M. Basley
Director Upward Bound/ Educational Talent Search
(312) 935-4556
cbasley@robertmorris.edu

Amy Lawrence
Assistant Director
(312) 935-4568
alawrence@robertmorris.edu

Yolanda Pittman
Academic Coordinator
(312) 935-4564
ypittman@robertmorris.edu

Karen Jenkins
Project Assistant
(312) 935-4569
kjenkins@robertmorris.edu

Educational Talent Search Staff

Carolyn M. Basley
Director Upward Bound/ Educational Talent Search
(312) 935-4556
cbasley@robertmorris.edu

Veronica Infante
Assistant Director
(312) 935-4553
vinfante@robertmorris.edu

Danielle Mitchell
Educational Specialist
(312) 935-4556
dmitchell@robertmorris.edu

Larriey Payton
Administrative Assistant
(312) 935-4566
lpayton@robertmorris.edu