Student Support Services – Project S.T.A.R.S.

Student Support Services – Project S.T.A.R.S. 2017-08-30T13:50:23+00:00

What is Student Support Services?

Student Support Services is an academic support services program sponsored by Robert Morris University and funded through a U.S. Department of Education grant. Student Support Services is designed to identify and select qualified undergraduate students who, with support, will complete a baccalaureate program.

What is the Purpose of Student Support Services?

Student Support Services provides opportunities for the academic
development of undergraduate college students. The program helps
to motivate students toward the successful completion of their
post-secondary education, and facilitates the process of transition
from one level of higher education to the next.

What services are available?

  • One-on-one academic and personal counseling
  • Academic skills assessment
  • Personal and professional development programs
  • Study skills workshops
  • Time and stress management workshops
  • Tutoring
  • Standardized test preparation (GMAT, GRE, LSAT)
  • Career development programs
  • Cultural enrichment activities
  • Personalized Financial Aid services
  • Audio-visual library
  • Computer Lab

How do I qualify for Student Support Services?

The U.S. Department of Education and Robert Morris University have a set criteria.

Students must be:

  • At a low family income level –OR– Potential first generation college student
  • Possess a documented disability
  • U.S. Citizen, national or permanent resident
  • An undergraduate pursuing the first bachelor’s degree
  • A 2.00 cumulative GPA is preferred

How do I apply for Student Support Services?

Students can pick up an application on the second floor of Robert Morris University in Suite 221, download the PDF version, or complete the online application.

For more information please call (312) 935-6100 or email studentsupportservices@robertmorris.edu

Our Staff

Student Support Services Staff

Angelica Castaneda
Director
(312) 935-6015
acastaneda@robertmorris.edu

Alishia Greene-Jenkins
Student Coordinator/Financial & Career Counselor
(312) 935-6017
agreene@robertmorris.edu

Crystal R. Tillman
Student Advisor/Instructional Focus
(312) 935-6014
ctillman@robertmorris.edu

Alyssa D. Simmons
Administrative Assistant
(312) 935-6100
asimmons@robertmorris.edu

Tutoring and Supplemental Instruction is available for all SSS participants on Monday – Friday between 8:30am-6:00pm

Upward Bound Staff

Carolyn M. Basley
Director Upward Bound/ Educational Talent Search
(312) 935-4556
cbasley@robertmorris.edu

Amy Lawrence
Assistant Director
(312) 935-4568
alawrence@robertmorris.edu

Yolanda Pittman
Academic Coordinator
(312) 935-4564
ypittman@robertmorris.edu

Karen Jenkins
Project Assistant
(312) 935-4569
kjenkins@robertmorris.edu

Educational Talent Search Staff

Carolyn M. Basley
Director Upward Bound/ Educational Talent Search
(312) 935-4556
cbasley@robertmorris.edu

Veronica Infante
Assistant Director
(312) 935-4553
vinfante@robertmorris.edu

Danielle Mitchell
Educational Specialist
(312) 935-4556
dmitchell@robertmorris.edu

Larriey Payton
Administrative Assistant
(312) 935-4566
lpayton@robertmorris.edu