Upward Bound

Upward Bound 2017-07-25T03:46:10+00:00

WHAT IS UPWARD BOUND?


Upward Bound is an academic support services program sponsored by Robert Morris University and funded through the U. S. Department of Education.  Upward Bound is designed to identify and select qualified high school students who, with support, will enter and graduate from a four year college/university.

PURPOSE


Upward Bound provides opportunities for the academic development of high school students.  The program helps to motivate students towards the successful completion of their high school diploma, and facilitates the process of transition into an institution of higher education.

WHAT SERVICES ARE AVAILABLE TO YOU?


  • One-on-one academic and personal counseling
  • Academic skills assessment
  • Personal and professional development programs
  • Study skills workshops
  • Time and stress management workshops
  • Tutoring
  • Standardized test preparation (ACT/SAT, PSAT, PLAN, EXPLORE)
  • Cultural and educational enrichment activities
  • Audio-visual library
  • Computer lab
  • Mentoring
  • Assistance completing financial aid forms and college/scholarship applications for post-secondary education.

DO I QUALIFY FOR THIS PROGRAM?


  • The U.S. Department of Education and Robert Morris University have a set criteria.

 Students must be:

  • At a low family income level.
  • Potential first generation college student.
  • U.S. Citizen, national or permanent resident.
  • Enrolled at one of our target schools (Lincoln Park High School, Curie High School and John F. Kennedy High School).

Our Staff

Student Support Services Staff

Angelica Castaneda
Director
(312) 935-6015
acastaneda@robertmorris.edu

Alishia Greene-Jenkins
Student Coordinator/Financial & Career Counselor
(312) 935-6017
agreene@robertmorris.edu

Crystal R. Tillman
Student Advisor/Instructional Focus
(312) 935-6014
ctillman@robertmorris.edu

Alyssa D. Simmons
Administrative Assistant
(312) 935-6100
asimmons@robertmorris.edu

Tutoring and Supplemental Instruction is available for all SSS participants on Monday – Friday between 8:30am-6:00pm

Upward Bound Staff

Carolyn M. Basley
Director Upward Bound/ Educational Talent Search
(312) 935-4556
cbasley@robertmorris.edu

Amy Lawrence
Assistant Director
(312) 935-4568
alawrence@robertmorris.edu

Yolanda Pittman
Academic Coordinator
(312) 935-4564
ypittman@robertmorris.edu

Karen Jenkins
Project Assistant
(312) 935-4569
kjenkins@robertmorris.edu

Educational Talent Search Staff

Carolyn M. Basley
Director Upward Bound/ Educational Talent Search
(312) 935-4556
cbasley@robertmorris.edu

Veronica Infante
Assistant Director
(312) 935-4553
vinfante@robertmorris.edu

Danielle Mitchell
Educational Specialist
(312) 935-4556
dmitchell@robertmorris.edu

Larriey Payton
Administrative Assistant
(312) 935-4566
lpayton@robertmorris.edu